HOME TO ARCHITECTURAL AND RELIGIOUS TREASURES
In 1725, during the French regime, construction began on the first church in Longueuil. It was destroyed by fire, and a second church was inaugurated in 1814. The number of parishioners continued to increase, and the church was short on space. The current building was constructed from 1885 to 1887 around the old one, which was then demolished from the inside. The church became the co-cathedral of the Saint-Jean-Longueuil diocese in 1982.
The co-cathedral’s imposing and magnificent architecture includes a bell tower that rises to 81 metres (265 feet). It houses a number of religious art pieces and bears witness to the rich history of Longueuil and its people.
In the shape of a Greek cross, the Co-Cathedral of Saint-Antoine-de-Padoue is impressive for its grandeur as well as for the artistic works it houses.